House committee on education and labor

What does the House Committee on Education and Labor do?

The Committee on Education and Labor’s purpose is to ensure that Americans’ needs are addressed so that students and workers may move forward in a changing school system and a competitive global economy.

Who is the ranking member of the Education and Labor Committee?


Subcommittee Chair Ranking Member
Health, Employment, Labor, and Pensions Frederica Wilson (D-FL) Tim Walberg (R-MI)
Higher Education and Workforce Investment Susan Davis (D-CA) Lloyd Smucker (R-PA)
Workforce Protections Alma Adams (D-NC) Bradley Byrne (R-AL)

What is the jurisdiction of the Education and the Workforce Committee?

The Committee’s basic jurisdiction is over education and labor matters generally, including oversight over matters related to higher and early education, workforce development and protections, and health, employment, labor, and pensions.

What are the 6 House committees?

Current committees Agriculture. Appropriations. Armed Services. Budget. Education and Labor. Energy and Commerce. Ethics. Financial Services.

Which of the following committees has subcommittee on health care?

The Subcommittee on Health Care, Benefits and Administrative Rules is a standing committee within the United States House Committee on Oversight and Government Reform . Jurisdiction includes the Census Bureau, the National Archives and Records Administration, health care, and the District of Columbia.

Who is the chair of the US Senate Committee on Health Education Labor and Pensions?

The chairman of the committee is Democrat Tom Harkin of Iowa, and the Ranking Member is Republican Mike Enzi of Wyoming.

What are the key committees in the House?

Terms in this set (4) The key committees in the House are Standing, Select, Joint, and Conference Committees .

You might be interested:  What is trade school education

What are the 5 different types of committees?

There are five different types of committees —standing committees , subcommittees, select committees , joint committees , and the Committee of the Whole. Standing Committees . Subcommittees. Select Committees . Joint Committees . Committee of the Whole.

What are the four types of committees?

The four types of committees in Congress are standing, select, joint, and conference. Standing committees are permanent committees that are generally more powerful than other types of committees .